New Job!!

Well, what I thought was going to be a short orientation turned into a full first day on the job.  Man, they gave me a brand new laptop and my own cell phone.  That’s just treatment that blows my mind, never would have thought I’d be getting all that… though since I’ve been working for a shitty ass contracting company for the last 3 years, that explains my disappointment with my past employer.

Busy day indeed.  I was on my feet most of the day running around the lines going from place to place, learning how everything comes together.  I’m certainly glad I asked for the tour beforhand else I would have been a little lost, instead, I walked in there knowing where a lot of things were.  It’s going to be awesome, really.  All that manufacturing going on and all of it requiring different needs and knowledge.  Getting my hands dirty with troubleshooting fixtures for the 08 CTS instrument panel, learning a crap load more about PLC’s then I ever dared to at Lear.  The real meat is that the entire system is running off of 2k3 servers with one ERP app called Trans4m interacting with proprietary software called “The Clark System” which then pipes that data into SQL.  The sql server is God here and as if I haven’t spent the last 3 years concentrating on SQL query language.  I even showed a quick trick to the guy training me today on how to instantly scroll to the bottom of a large table… ctrl-downarrow.

Anyhow, great first day.  Get to go in at 7am tomorrow and leave at 4pm, much better.  Also, it appears that there might be a little bit of a rotation for the night shift so I might not be totally stuck on it all the time, which is very nice.  Also, there’s no doubt that the hours will be plentiful.

Yay for me!

~ by aeroslin on April 4, 2007.

Leave a Reply

 
