Work and Money and Stuff

Man oh man.  I know I probably shouldn’t ramble about personal shit but I just have to say that getting my first paycheck was certainly a happy experience for me.  I knew that I was getting paid on the 1st and 15th of every month.  Well yesterday I realized that the 15th fell on a Sunday and I wasn’t sure how that would all work out.  Also, I wasn’t sure if I’d even get a full paycheck or a partial since I started on April 3rd.  Ok, so I have known that I was overdrawn in the bank for over a week now and the fines had been building up but I was afraid to see just how badly it was because I knew that there wasn’t anything I could do about it until I got paid.  Yesterday, I decided to swallow the fear and check my bank account and lo-and-behold, I had some PHAT loots in the bank. 😉  I wasn’t overdrawn by a long shot and in one check I had as much money as I was getting paid every 3 weeks when I was unemployed.

He he he…  I went shopping a little yesterday after I bought lunch for my mom, sister (Shannon) and all 6 of my nieces and nephews at Applebee’s.  Tipped the waitress 20 bucks for my 100 dollar lunch.  Went to Best Buy and wandered around there for a couple of hours playing with stuff, trying to get a feel for anything that I might want.  I bought 4 movies, 3 cd’s, and 2 games.  Clerks, Jay and Silent Bob Strikes Back, Mallrats, Monty Python’s Meaning of Life, Gwar’s latest, Gwar’s first, Clutch’s latest CD (which is the bomb), Quake 4, and an Xbox360 game called Fight Night.  Then after I got home I decided it was time to start looking at upgrading my computer again.  I started looking at the next gen stuff in mobo’s and cpu’s but decided that the cost was too high for that stuff at the moment.  I ended up buying the fastest processor for my existing mobo and 2 more gigs of ram to bring the memory in this thing to it’s max of 3 gigs.  That should speed things up considerably.  It’s not a dual core system but I think it will do fine with Vanguard now.  Oh, one last thing that I bought was the full set of Piers Anthony’s Incarnations of Immortality series.  I read the first book, On a Pale Horse, many years ago but it was only that one book and since I’ve read everything in my collection at least twice, I’m getting bored with re-reading stuff and need something new.  Aside from that, the current book I’m re-reading, The Last Herald Mage by Mercedes Lackey, if you’ve read that series before then you’ll know that the main char in that book is a little uncomfortable for me to read about.  The main char, Vanyel is the super homosexual magician that is more powerful than anyone else.  I don’t like how the series made all the most powerful people flaming gay but what am I to do.  I mean, really, from reading this book the straight people are only ordinary and even subject to the ills of everyday life, whereas it is portraited that the homo are all so very special and unique and granted special priviledge and power for such innate behavior.  Anyway, enough ranting about that.

I start on 2nd shift on Monday so my hours are going to be a little squirrelly from now on until it changes.  What bums me out the most is that I won’t be hanging out with the kids quite as often as I was working on 1st.  I’m sure I’ll figure something out.

~ by aeroslin on April 15, 2007.

Leave a Reply

 
