Genetics

I just watched a TV news snippet about a husband and wife who have three children and two of them are diabetics and their youngest has the same antibody that is a strong indicator of him also becoming a diabetic.

Now, diabetes isn’t an end all disease but it’s certainly a life shaking and life changing disease that once you have it, it can be very dangerous if you don’t handle it properly.

My point here is about the future of genetics and it’s ability to determine the predisposition of mating humans.  One of the fears that has prevented me from having children is whether or not my wife is going to carry something with her (and possible some latent disfunction of my own as well) that will shorten or terribly complicate the life of our child(ren).

I think that in the near future that it will be more important that couples exercise genetic responsibility.  Yes, this is a very, umm, totalitarian? idea I guess but in this case that type of responsibility is all about doing your part to ensure a healthy future for your child and your grandchildren.

Sad as it is, these are things I think about when considering my own future.

~ by aeroslin on November 13, 2007.

Leave a comment