Disappointed

So I got this small urge today to check out TV media corps in an effort to see which one posed the best value.  Judging by the blog title you can assume how that went.

Here’s my first problem: Satellite (my first choice) is pretty unlikely due to the amount of trees that just so happen to be in the way.  Even a roof mounted dish I believe would still be blocked from a good signal.  The best place I see is the roof of the garage about 100 feet away and I don’t think that’s going to work for Oak Park.  I’m uncertain about this, however.

Second choice is Comcast and for some reason I’m leary about even talking to these guys.  I just don’t sense anything good coming out of a relationship with them.  I don’t know why.  Either way, their pricing is pretty lame.  24.99 to bring you in for 4 months and then smack you with 50 bucks a month.  And that wouldn’t even give me the channels I want.

Then there’s this U-Verse that is coming out from AT&T but it’s not even in my area yet.  This is supposedly cable tv over dsl or something like that.  Sounded neat but it’s pricy for the channels I want anyway.

I can’t imagine that DirecTV is any better than DishNet and Dish is what I used before and was satisfied with the service, just not the dish.  I had to cancel the service because a goddam tree grew up high enough in my adjacent neighbors yard to block the signal during the summer.  In the winter it was ok (no leaves on the tree).  Either way, it was an expense and an affair that I wasn’t willing to deal with and since I was currently addicted to EQ2 it wasn’t missed.

…so, I did some comparison shopping between DirecTV and Dish and guess what… DirecTV has the channel I want in a 34 dollar a month package where Dish doesn’t even have it for less than 50 bucks.  Now, if I can just get a dish in here somewhere, I’ll be all set.

~ by aeroslin on November 15, 2007.

Leave a Reply

 
