Riding in the rain

My experience the day before with riding in the downpour was so exciting that I failed to notice the change in how the bike handles on the wet road.

I noticed it tonight on my way home from work.  Combined with a good wind blowing from the left and a constant drizzle coming down on a totally saturated road, the rear end of the bike felt a little squirrley.  Because of this, I took the corners real slow-like.

I heard a guy at work was riding his 150 to work during the downpour and fell off.  He was alright but, I’d rather, in this case, learn from someone elses mistake instead of my own. 

My biggest problem is that despite my fat ass, altogether, there isn’t a whole lot of weight being distributed over a wide enough area.  The tires on this scooter aren’t very wide so the potential to slip out is pretty high.  I’ve rode enough pedal bikes in my time, on wet pavement, to understand this piece of classical physics.

~ by aeroslin on September 5, 2008.

Leave a Reply

 
