Damn it

Man, everything was going awesome in my recovery.  I was feeling pretty damn good.  Still sore but all things I could handle.  I had my first longest time without the vicodin this morning and didn’t feel too bad.

Then …

Muscle spasms in my chest, or stomach or somewhere around there.  Had nothing to do with my incisions.  I was doing fine, playing a video game, snacking on some crackers as I have been all week and then BLAM out of nowhere pain.  I had already taken my vicodin an hour before that but it didn’t stop this pain.

I 911’d.

You know they give you pain scales to judge the pain and here’s about how it went 0 then 10, grabbed a cold pack and hugged it to my front right abdomen.  Spasm spasm spasm, 10, 9, 10, 9.  Get in the shower, 9, 8, 7, 6, 7, 6, 8, 6 get out of the shower, 9, 10, 9, 10.

Contemplate: can I handle this problem?  is it something stupid that’s going to go away before I get to the hospital?  what did I do?  am I the cause of this pain?

Call 911.  The uncertainty factor was too much.

I was fluctuating between an 8 and a 10 when the ambulance got here.  It lessened to about a 7-8 but jumped to a 9 when they started moving me out of the ambulance.

I got my bed, an IV in me but they hadn’t given me anything.  My temp was good, my BP was elevated as normal, my heart rate was normal.  My breathing was a little strained because of the pain and taking deep breaths caused additional spasms.

However, by the time they wheeled me into the X-Ray room, my pain had dropped to about a 4.  My mom showed up and I was feeling OK.  All these doctors showed up and poked at me and asked me questions and analyzed everything.  I was feeling OK.

The last doctor showed up and diagnosed me as having two different conditions.  I’m full of shit (what’s new there, right?) and need to get rid of it.  Then I needed an anti-inflammatory with my vicodin in order to help my chest.  At least that’s what I got out of it.

Needless to say, I was aiming for going back to work Monday but that’s not going to happen.  Wednesday is what I think.

~ by aeroslin on November 3, 2008.

Leave a Reply

 
