Just Fucking Great

Today’s announcement of the phasing out of the 2nd shift at the Lansing Grand River plant didn’t exactly come as a big surprise to me.  I’ve been worried about it since GM mentioned their drastic measures to reduce costs earlier in the summer of 2008.

Now that worst case scenario has become a reality.  Once again I’m probably going to find myself out of a fucking job and not because I did anything wrong but because I was in the wrong place at the wrong time.  I thought I had dodged the bullet.

If anyone questions why I tend to be a pessimist, it’s because this type of shit has become expected.  So often that it’s now simply a coping mechanism.

I can’t help but chuckle at my options this time around.  Like at Lear, in order to keep my job at the company I work at, there is the option of moving to a different location.  Unlike Lear and moving to Fenton, MI, there is the option of moving to Kentucky.  Unlike the Lear option, I might have to consider it since it is moving, physically, in the direction I’d rather be going.  Ultimately, I’d love to be in North Carolina.  If I had an offer to move there, I’d be packing right now.

On the other hand, there may be other options that keep me at Dakkota or at least working in Lansing for another supplier, Yazaki.  I was fortunate enough to meet one of the Operations Managers from there and he was apparently impressed enough with me that I received the proverbial, “If you ever need a job, just ask and I’ll hook you up.”  His words were, “You’d be a real asset to our company.”

That is awesome to know but the bottom line is, and it was my failure at Lear, my desire to be loyal to who I am working for.  I really don’t want to go anywhere.  I feel that I have enough knowledge and skill to be a continued benefit to Dakkota.

The thing is that in my department, it will simply come down to seniority and I’m the low man on the totem.

It’s all just fucking great.

~ by aeroslin on November 8, 2008.

Leave a Reply

 
