Stargate Atlantis

Damit!  It happened again!

Just when I was really starting to get into the Stargate Atlantis series, they cancel it.  The original SG-1went for 10 years and still looked to have some energy left in it when they did.  Then I turned to Atlantis for my sci-fi adventure fix and after only 5 seasons Sci-Fi channel cancels it.

I was shocked!  This season has been one of the best yet but when I was watching the latest episode I had a bad feeling that too many strings were being cleaned up from the series.  This caused me to start looking and it didn’t take me long to find the answer.

The only light at the end of that tunnel is that while Atlantis is being cancelled, the people that created it were green-lighted to create a whole new Stargate series called Stargate Universe.  It isn’t hard to guess that many of the die-hard fans are already calling such a show a flop.  I’ve seen the character descriptions and, well, they’re terrible.  I was listening to a podcast of one of the directors in an interview and he was heaping praises on the writing so far, saying that it goes back to the old school Stargate SG-1 series.  We’ll see.

I’ll end with a description of how I feel about the loss of Atlantis.  I feel like I have lost yet another friend.  I feel very saddened.

Only 4 more episodes left.

*sigh*

~ by aeroslin on December 7, 2008.

Leave a Reply

 
