Cooking

Sometimes, (and more lately) I like to cook dinner.

I have this betty crocker recipe book that I’d pulled some recipes from but many of them don’t really sound good to me.

The last two I did turned out fantastic.  Creamed Corn Casserole and Zesty Tuna Noodle Casserole.  The tuna one I added some other vegetables that weren’t on the list but only added to the great flavor.

Tonight (1/31/09) I was going through the book but couldn’t find anything that I really liked.  So, I sat there thinking about the flavors (like I did with the soup) and came up with an idea for a kick ass stir-fry – jim style.

Here’s what I did:
2 red bell peppers (cut like small french fries)
1 white onion (chop into rings, then quarter)
1 handful of snap green beans (cut in half)
1 lb of stir-fry beef (sliced into bite-sized pieces)
4 tbsp butter
worcestershire sauce
szechuan sauce
louisiana hot sauce
black pepper

Cut the vegetables, combine and set aside in a stirfry pot.
In a frying pan, put the beef and start cooking on high heat.  Sprinkle on black pepper, add about 2 tbsp of worchestershire sauce, 1 tbsp of szechuan sauce and 1 tsp of louisiana hot sauce.  Stir it all up and cook the beef until the sauce is nearly boiled away.  Set this aside.  (note on the sauces: the worchestershire sauce is the base, add the spicy sauces to your taste but you should have about a 1/4 cup worth of mixture to cook with.)

Stir fry the vegetables until the onions start to carmelize.  Add the beef and cook until the green beans are soft.  Should be about 7 – 10 minutes of stir frying.

Serve this tasty meal on a plate.  Probably could put it on some rice for extra filling but I ate the whole thing plain.  It’s spicy and sweet and is one of the best things I’ve cooked yet.

~ by aeroslin on February 1, 2009.

Leave a Reply

 
