“I Love You!”

I have concluded that this phrase is horrid. While my experience with love and companionship is limited to a handful of people, I have found that the phrase itself is empty and devoid of meaning. It’s a phrase used by those without creativity, without passion, without heart, and frankly, without love.

I have used the phrase in the past and it has led me down some very strange roads. One of my girlfriends actually got mad at me when I said it and told me straight up that I didn’t. Confused the hell out of me because I had been friends with the girl for over a year before we even entered into an exclusive relationship. Needless to say, that relationship was pretty much busted after that point. I knew how I felt and that phrase was, at the time, the best I could come up with to express it. Another girlfriend craved for me to say the phrase to her. If I didn’t, she would throw a guilt trip on me and even get mad. She would assume that I didn’t really care about her. Insecure much? So eventually to me, the phrase didn’t mean shit except a stop-gap to prevent an argument. However, this same ex-girlfriend recognized something that I was doing that spoke louder than words. My actions. The way that I would talk to her about something. I was doing those things naturally. She picked up on it and called me out on it before I even recognized what I was doing.

The girl that I’m in a relationship with right now, I have considered saying the words but to me they mean less than what I really feel. To me, the feelings that I have expressed to her are larger than just a single phrase. The meme world on Facebook is full of wonderful sentiments that perfectly express my feelings for her and her feelings for me. We’ve told each other we love one another a hundred times already. We feel it when we hug and kiss each other, when we’re sitting on the couch watching TV and I’m playing with her hair, when we feed each other at the dinner table, when we stare at each other, and so many more actions that speak far louder than words ever could.

So, at the end of the day I won’t cheapen how I feel with a phrase that has become trite and meaningless to me. I’d rather shower her with phrases that express my passion for her, or tell her how inspiring she is to me, or how pretty I think she is. In reciprocation she does the same without expectation. The relationship is meaningful to us both. We mean a lot to each other.

~ by aeroslin on April 2, 2013.

Leave a Reply

 
